Capital One

Spark Cash Plus

$150-fee NPSL charge card — unlimited 2% cash back, 5% on Capital One Business Travel, refundable fee at $150k spend

Annual Fee
$150 ($150 statement credit if ≥ $150,000 net...
Base Earn
Unlimited 2% cash back on net purchases (no c...
Intro APR
Not offered
Rating
8.7/10

Costs & Pricing

Annual fee (primary): $150 ($150 statement credit if ≥ $150,000 net purchases by membership anniversary)

Employee card fee: $0 (free employee and virtual cards)

Purchase APR: Not printed as revolving purchase APR; Pay Over Time variable APR ~25.74% (review sites, mid-2026) if balance carried

Intro APR (purchases): Not offered

Intro APR (balance transfers): Not offered (balance transfers not available)

Foreign transaction fee: $0

Cash advance APR: Not disclosed on public product page

Late payment fee: 2.99% late fee if minimum payment not paid by due date

Penalty APR: Not disclosed (review sites report none)

Other fees: Pay Over Time interest accrues at end of billing cycle on carried balance. Roadside Dispatch pay-per-use (~$70). No overlimit fees (issuer-wide).

Rewards & Value

Base Earn Rate
Unlimited 2% cash back on net purchases (no category caps)
Welcome Bonus
$2,000 cash after $30,000 spend in first 3 months; +$2,000 for every $500,000 in year one (repeatable)
Redemption
1¢ per 1¢ cash back on statement credit/check

Bonus Categories & Promotions

  • 5% cash back on hotels, vacation rentals, and rental cars booked through Capital One Business Travel (outside portal earns 2%)

Partner Credits & Perks

  • $150 annual-fee statement credit at ≥ $150,000 net purchases by membership anniversary
  • $500 Business Travel credit (limited offer through 2026-09-07) after $30,000 / 3 months

Transfer partners: No native transfer partners; cash may convert to Capital One miles ($1 = 100 miles) if linked to miles-earning Cap One card

Credit, Limits & Spending

Credit limit: No preset spending limit (NPSL); purchasing power adjusts with behavior, payment history, and credit profile

Personal guarantee: Required in practice (issuer-typical for Cap One business cards; not quoted on product page)

Credit check: Hard pull on submit; pre-approval advertised as no impact to personal credit

Recommended credit: ~740+ FICO guidance (Excellent credit marketed; not guaranteed)

Employee cards: Free; spend limits, lock/unlock, account manager role; primary remains liable

Virtual cards: Offered for safer online payments; merchant-lock and card count not fully specified

Product type: Hybrid charge card / NPSL business card (designed pay-in-full; Pay Over Time optional)

Network: Visa or Mastercard (World Elite Mastercard Spark / Visa Signature Business Spark)

Benefits, Protections & Tools

Travel

  • Auto rental CDW — primary for business rentals (Mastercard GTB; network-dependent)
  • Lost luggage up to $2,000/bag ($3,000/trip NY) on common-carrier tickets
  • Travel accident AD&D up to $250,000 when fare charged to card
  • Roadside dispatch (pay-per-use, not prepaid insurance)

Purchase Protections

  • Purchase security — 90 days, up to $10,000/claim, $50,000/cardholder (Mastercard GTB)
  • Extended warranty — extra year on U.S. warranties of 3 years or less
  • Cell-phone protection — $50 deductible, $800/claim, $1,000/account/12 months (Mastercard GTB)
  • $0 fraud liability; 24/7 fraud monitoring

Business Tools

  • Expense management with receipts/notes
  • Accounts Payable — send and track vendor payments in-account
  • Export to Quicken, QuickBooks, Excel; year-end summaries
  • Recurring-transaction list, choose due date, AutoPay, card lock
  • Virtual cards and employee spend controls in Capital One Mobile

Eligibility & Application

Who can apply: Authorized representative of U.S. small business; sole props may use SSN, entities use EIN

Business requirements: Beneficial owners/controllers collected; no published time-in-business or revenue floors

Issuer rules: Bonuses blocked for existing/previous Cap One Business cardholders; 48-month same-product bonus rule

Application impact: Pre-approval = no personal score impact (issuer claim); full apply = hard personal inquiry

Best for: High spend Flat 2% cash back No preset spending limit No foreign transaction fee Free employee cards Pay in full

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Uncapped 2% cash back on all net purchases
  • NPSL capacity plus free employee and virtual cards
  • $150 annual fee refunded at $150,000 net spend by anniversary
  • Large year-1 bonuses — $2,000 at $30k/3 mo plus $2,000 per $500k spent
  • $0 foreign transaction fee; 5% on Capital One Business Travel hotels/VR/cars

Cons

  • ✗ $150 fee is real if spend stays below $150k/year
  • ✗ Pay-in-full design — 2.99% late fee and Pay Over Time interest if you carry
  • ✗ Bonus hurdles favor very high spenders ($30k/3 mo, $500k increments)
  • ✗ No 0% intro APR and no balance transfers
  • ✗ Bonus often blocked for existing/previous Capital One Business cardholders
Overall Verdict

Strong Buy (high-spend flat-rate NPSL)

Capital One Spark Cash Plus is the go-to for businesses with serious spend who can pay in full. Uncapped 2%, NPSL flexibility, free employee/virtual cards, and a refundable $150 fee at $150k make it a premium flat-rate engine — especially with the live $2,000 welcome bonus and limited $500 travel credit (through Sep 7, 2026). Poor fit for 0% financing seekers, lounge hunters, or businesses under $150k annual card spend.

8.7
Rating