Spark 1.5% Cash Select
No-annual-fee 1.5% flat cash back with 0% intro APR and a modest welcome bonus
Capital One Venture Business
Low-fee flat 2X transferable miles business card with small annual travel + ads/software credits; fixed limit; personal underwriting
Costs & Pricing
| Metric | Spark 1.5% Cash Select | Capital One Venture Business |
|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | $0 | $95 (no first-year waiver on Venture Business). Legacy Spark Miles was $0 intro year 1, then $95 — do not use that waiver in a 2026 new-applicant calculator. |
| Employee card fee | $0 | $0 |
| Purchase APR | 16.74%–26.74% variable after intro (based on creditworthiness) | 24.49% variable (marketing page shows a single rate, not a range). Review-captured terms: Prime + 17.74%; updates quarterly. Confirm whether 24.49% is universal or representative. |
| Intro APR (purchases) | 0% for 9 months, then 16.74%–26.74% variable | Not offered |
| Foreign transaction fee | $0 | $0 |
| Late payment fee | Not disclosed on public product page (aggregators: up to $39; cash-back hub footnote mentions 2.99% — unresolved) | Up to $39 (captured Capital One account-terms / review Schumer boxes) |
Rewards & Value
| Metric | Spark 1.5% Cash Select | Capital One Venture Business |
|---|---|---|
| Base earn rate | Unlimited 1.5% cash back on every purchase (no category restrictions) | Unlimited 2 miles per $1 on every purchase. No category tracking, no published annual cap. Same earn structure on legacy Spark Miles and live Venture Business. |
| Welcome bonus | $750 cash after $6,000 purchases in first 3 months | Live Venture Business (Sept. 3, 2026): 100,000 miles after $10,000 in first 3 months. Product-page footnote: may not be available for existing or previous Capital One Business card holders. Offer expiration date not dated on the live product page. |
| Redemption value | Face-value cash (statement credit or check); any amount; does not expire while account is open | Issuer marketing treats miles as 1¢ each for Capital One Business Travel and cover-travel redemptions (request within 90 days). Cash/gift-card value is lower and varies / subject to change (business FAQ). Do not assume 1¢ for cash. Transfers not assumed unless the user picks a partner. |
| Transfer partners | Cash itself does not transfer. If you also hold a Capital One miles card, cash can convert at 1¢ = 1 mile (widely documented; not on the Select product page). | Official partner article (Jan. 29, 2026) — 1:1 airlines: Aeromexico Rewards, Air Canada Aeroplan, Avianca LifeMiles, British Airways Club, Cathay Pacific Asia Miles, Etihad Guest, Finnair Plus, Flying Blue (Air France-KLM), Qantas Frequent Flyer, Qatar Privilege Club, Singapore KrisFlyer, TAP Miles&Go, Turkish Miles&Smiles, Virgin Red. 2:1.5: Emirates Skywards, EVA Air, Japan Airlines Mileage Bank. 5:3: JetBlue. Hotels: Choice Privileges 1:1, Wyndham Rewards 1:1, I Prefer 1:2, Accor Live Limitless 2:1. Miles do not expire while the account is open; may be lost if closed. Minimum transfer not disclosed on that article (third parties often cite 1,000-mile increments). |
Credit & Eligibility
| Metric | Spark 1.5% Cash Select | Capital One Venture Business |
|---|---|---|
| Personal guarantee | Not quoted on product page; market practice = required for Capital One small-business revolving cards | Required in ordinary Capital One small-business underwriting. Card-specific agreement sentence not disclosed in a public PDF located this run. Application collects SSNs of all business owners. |
| Credit check | Hard pull on apply (commonly all three bureaus). Pre-approval advertised as no impact to personal score. | Hard pull on apply is the industry-standard Capital One path; pre-approval tool is marketed as no impact on personal score. Whose credit: owners whose SSNs are submitted. |
| Employee cards | Free; custom spend limits; card lock; account-manager role (primary remains liable) | Free; individual limits; receipts/notes in Expense Management; same 2X earn per marketing. |
| Product type | Revolving business credit card (fixed credit line) | Revolving business credit card with a fixed credit line (not NPSL; not a charge card). Capital One contrasts this with Venture X Business and Spark Cash Plus (pay-in-full / NPSL). |
Pros & Cons
Spark 1.5% Cash Select
Pros
- $0 annual fee; unlimited 1.5% cash back with no category tracking
- Live $750 / $6,000 / 3-month welcome bonus
- 9-month 0% intro APR on purchases
- $0 foreign-transaction fee; free employee cards that earn the same rate
- Cash back never expires while the account is open; redeem any amount
Cons
- 1.5% trails 2% flats and category-heavy Ink/Amex products at scale
- 5% travel only inside Capital One Business Travel; no lounge/GE credits
- Balance transfers not available
- Revolving Spark cards commonly report to personal credit
- Excellent-credit bar; full Schumer (late fee, penalty APR) not on the public product page
Capital One Venture Business
Pros
- Unlimited 2X miles with no category caps, plus 5X on Capital One Business Travel hotels/cars and 15+ transfer partners
- $0 FTF and free employee cards
- $50 travel + $50 ads/software credits can offset the $95 fee if used
- Global Entry/TSA PreCheck up to $120 every 4 years
- Live 100,000 / $10,000 / 3-month bonus is richer than the last Spark Miles 50k / $4,500 offer
Cons
- $95 fee with no year-1 waiver on the live SKU
- No 0% intro APR; BTs not available; purchase APR 24.49% variable
- No lounge access; 5X travel is portal hotels/cars only — not flights, not direct bookings
- Ads/software credit is MCC-fragile
- Spark Miles closed; existing holders must re-apply (no product change) to get new credits and may lose the bonus
Verdict
Spark 1.5% Cash Select
Spark Cash Select is the clean no-fee 1.5% Capital One option — plus a $750 bonus and 9 months of 0% on purchases. It is not Spark Cash Plus (NPSL, $150) and not Classic (fair credit, 1%). Best as a simple daily driver or year-1 0% tool; once annual spend is high enough that a 2% flat or category card wins, move the volume.
Capital One Venture Business
New applicants see Venture Business, not Spark Miles. Existing Spark Miles accounts stay on the old product ($0 year-1 then $95; GE/PreCheck only among this pair’s credits; no $50 travel or ads/software unless they separately apply). Do not mix with VentureOne (1.5X, $0) or Venture X Business ($395, NPSL, lounges). Skip it for 0% float, no-PG underwriting, or anyone who will revolve at 24.49%.