Head-to-Head

Spark 1.5% Cash Select

No-annual-fee 1.5% flat cash back with 0% intro APR and a modest welcome bonus

VS

Fintech Platform Charge Cards

No-PG expense/ops charge card; software is the product; rewards and float vary by platform

Annual Fee
$0
CATEGORY: Almost always $0 on public ...
Base Earn
Unlimited 1.5% cash back on every pur...
CATEGORY: Varies widely; rarely as si...
Intro APR
0% for 9 months, then 16.74%–26.74% v...
CATEGORY: Not offered as classic intr...
Rating
8.3/10
8.0/10

Costs & Pricing

MetricSpark 1.5% Cash SelectFintech Platform Charge Cards
Annual fee$0CATEGORY: Almost always $0 on public pages. EXAMPLE A Engine X: $0. EXAMPLE B Rho: $0. Adjacent Coast: platform fee $4 per active user / month (not a classic card AF).
Employee card fee$0CATEGORY: Usually $0. EXAMPLE A: $0; unlimited physical + virtual (marketing). EXAMPLE B: $0; unlimited physical + virtual.
Purchase APR16.74%–26.74% variable after intro (based on creditworthiness)CATEGORY: Usually absent — charge products, no revolving purchase APR. Marketing “0%” is almost always charge-card float, not a 12–18 month 0% intro APR. EXAMPLE A: N/A / not published. EXAMPLE B: None (paid in full Daily or Monthly).
Intro APR (purchases)0% for 9 months, then 16.74%–26.74% variableCATEGORY: Not offered as classic intro APR. EXAMPLE A: not offered. EXAMPLE B: Daily = next-day debit; Monthly ≈ 30-day float — not intro APR.
Foreign transaction fee$0CATEGORY: Often missing from marketing; live in ToS / bank addendum. EXAMPLE A: silent on product page as of 3 Sep 2026 — dedicated Engine X bio extracts Program Terms FTF $0 (prefer Program Terms / dedicated bio). EXAMPLE B Rho: CONFLICT — help center says no FTF; ToS §2.4 may charge up to 1% on foreign transactions; network conversion may still apply. ToS wins. Adjacent Coast: 2.5% after USD conversion.
Late payment feeNot disclosed on public product page (aggregators: up to $39; cash-back hub footnote mentions 2.99% — unresolved)CATEGORY: Often not on marketing page. EXAMPLE A: not boxed on product page; dedicated Engine X bio extracts $40 per late payment from Program Terms eff. 4/1/2026. EXAMPLE B Rho: 3% of delinquent balance per month, up to 6 months, unless prohibited by law (ToS §2.4) + forfeit cash back for that period. Adjacent Coast: greater of 2.5% of past due or $35; after 31 days greater of 5% or $35.

Rewards & Value

MetricSpark 1.5% Cash SelectFintech Platform Charge Cards
Base earn rateUnlimited 1.5% cash back on every purchase (no category restrictions)CATEGORY: Varies widely; rarely as simple as Spark uncapped 2% cash. EXAMPLE A Engine X: 1.5% back in Engine points on everyday / off-Engine purchases. EXAMPLE B Rho Standard: 1.25% Daily Terms / 1.00% Monthly Terms. Adjacent Coast: fleet rebates + non-fuel ~1% (collect from Coast rewards page).
Welcome bonus$750 cash after $6,000 purchases in first 3 monthsEXAMPLE A Engine X (live as of 3 Sep 2026): 20,000 Engine points after activate + spend $2,000 in the first 30 days. Conflict — Fit Small Business (14 Jul 2026) adds off-platform qualifier; open engine.com/x/spend-incentive-terms. No hard expire date on public hero. EXAMPLE B Rho: no live dollar welcome on official product page as of 3 Sep 2026; NerdWallet (26 Aug 2026) still shows $500 — secondary/possibly stale.
Redemption valueFace-value cash (statement credit or check); any amount; does not expire while account is openEXAMPLE A: points redeemable for flights, hotels, cars, statement credits via Engine; ¢/point Not disclosed; points have no cash value — do not assume 1¢. EXAMPLE B: statement credit at 1¢ per 1% after full on-time pay; must redeem within 12 months or forfeit (Rho will not notify); Daily Terms cash back typically posts around the 6th business day of the following month.
Transfer partnersCash itself does not transfer. If you also hold a Capital One miles card, cash can convert at 1¢ = 1 mile (widely documented; not on the Select product page).Generally not offered in the Chase/Amex bank-card sense. Engine redemption is platform catalog. Rho is cash back.

Credit & Eligibility

MetricSpark 1.5% Cash SelectFintech Platform Charge Cards
Personal guaranteeNot quoted on product page; market practice = required for Capital One small-business revolving cardsCATEGORY hallmark: typically No. EXAMPLE A: We also do not require personal guarantees (apply page). EXAMPLE B: No, Rho Cards do not require a personal guarantee / not currently required. Adjacent Coast: no PG.
Credit checkHard pull on apply (commonly all three bureaus). Pre-approval advertised as no impact to personal score.EXAMPLE A: no hard pull; will not impact personal credit score; last-4 SSN for CIP/KYC. EXAMPLE B: no hard or soft check on your (personal) credit score when applying for credit with Rho (FAQ). Adjacent Coast: applying won’t affect personal credit score (marketing).
Employee cardsFree; custom spend limits; card lock; account-manager role (primary remains liable)CATEGORY hallmark: physical + virtual with pre-spend controls. EXAMPLE A: limits by employee, project, category, transaction; 1099/contractor cards marketed; company (accountholder) liable. EXAMPLE B: unlimited virtual/physical; vendor-locked and single-use; per-card limits, merchant restrictions, freeze; international toggle. Adjacent Coast: GPS/odometer/fuel controls.
Product typeRevolving business credit card (fixed credit line)CATEGORY: Commercial charge cards bundled with expense or operations software. Pay-in-full; no revolving purchase APR. Not consumer revolvers. EXAMPLE A: Engine X travel-platform charge card (spend tiers, not separate card SKUs). EXAMPLE B: Rho Corporate Card with Daily Terms vs Monthly Terms repayment and Rho Platinum cash-back overlay. Adjacent: Coast fleet charge card.

Pros & Cons

Spark 1.5% Cash Select

Pros

  • $0 annual fee; unlimited 1.5% cash back with no category tracking
  • Live $750 / $6,000 / 3-month welcome bonus
  • 9-month 0% intro APR on purchases
  • $0 foreign-transaction fee; free employee cards that earn the same rate
  • Cash back never expires while the account is open; redeem any amount

Cons

  • 1.5% trails 2% flats and category-heavy Ink/Amex products at scale
  • 5% travel only inside Capital One Business Travel; no lounge/GE credits
  • Balance transfers not available
  • Revolving Spark cards commonly report to personal credit
  • Excellent-credit bar; full Schumer (late fee, penalty APR) not on the public product page

Fintech Platform Charge Cards

Pros

  • $0 annual fee and $0 extra-card fee on Engine X and Rho (official pages, 2026)
  • No personal guarantee; Engine and Rho state no personal hard pull (apply/FAQ)
  • Engine X 6–10% points on Engine hotels/cars is a real category rate if that booking path is used
  • Rho publishes cash-back math, exclusions, $1M cap, and 12-month redeem-or-forfeit
  • Both issue virtual + physical cards with pre-spend controls; Engine decision timing published (24 hours typical)

Cons

  • Not sole-prop products (Engine official; Rho commonly reported)
  • Pay-in-full; Rho late fee 3%/month up to 6 months + rewards forfeiture
  • Engine point cash value unpublished; 10% is not 10% cash
  • Rho up to 2% is conditional (Platinum + Daily + on-time + domestic eligible MCCs)
  • Insurance / lounge / Schumer-box items largely missing from public card pages; Engine FTF and late fee not boxed on /x

Verdict

Spark 1.5% Cash Select

Spark Cash Select is the clean no-fee 1.5% Capital One option — plus a $750 bonus and 9 months of 0% on purchases. It is not Spark Cash Plus (NPSL, $150) and not Classic (fair credit, 1%). Best as a simple daily driver or year-1 0% tool; once annual spend is high enough that a 2% flat or category card wins, move the volume.

Fintech Platform Charge Cards

CATEGORY PATTERN — not one SKU. EXAMPLE A Engine X is also a dedicated bio in this set (prefer that page for Engine-only vs pages). EXAMPLE B Rho is the smaller banking-plus-card peer. Adjacent Coast is fleet-only. Measured against Ramp/Brex/Divvy, not a substitute for them. Anti-fit: sole props, 0% intro APR borrowers, and anyone treating up to 10% or up to 2% as unconditional cash. Re-verify welcome offers, FTF, and fee addenda before publish.