Capital One

Spark 1% Classic

No-annual-fee 1% flat cash-back business card aimed at fair/limited personal credit, with a high ongoing APR and no welcome bonus

Annual Fee
$0 (ongoing; no intro-year structure)
Base Earn
Unlimited 1% cash back on every purchase. Mar...
Intro APR
Not offered
Rating
7.2/10

Costs & Pricing

Annual fee (primary): $0 (ongoing; no intro-year structure)

Employee card fee: $0 (free employee cards; no per-card fee published)

Purchase APR: 28.99% variable on the product page and pre-approval rates block (Sept. 3, 2026). Not published as a range; no Prime + margin table on the Classic page. Review sites still show 29.49%–30.74% — treat as stale vs issuer page.

Intro APR (purchases): Not offered

Intro APR (balance transfers): Not offered. Official rates block: Balance transfers are not available on Spark Classic. Older reviews that said $0 BT fee are superseded.

Foreign transaction fee: $0

Cash advance APR: 28.99% variable (same rates block). Fee $5 or 5% of the cash advance, whichever is greater. Interest typically begins at posting (no grace on cash advances).

Late payment fee: Not on the official Classic page. Bankrate (Dec 19, 2025): up to $39. Do not apply Cap One charge-card 2.99%-of-unpaid-minimum language to Classic.

Penalty APR: Not on the official Classic page. Bankrate (Dec 19, 2025) lists 33.65% variable, triggered by late payment — consistent with other Cap One revolving disclosures, but not confirmed here. Duration/exit not disclosed.

Other fees: No standalone public Schumer-box PDF labeled for Spark Classic. Overlimit fee: Capital One does not charge over-the-limit fees (issuer-wide). Rush, paper-statement, minimum-interest, inactivity, and FX-markup-beyond-FTF not disclosed. Similar Cap One revolving disclosures: ADB including new transactions; due date at least 25 days after cycle close; grace on new purchases if prior balance paid in full. Classic-specific CMA not posted. Due date is choosable; payment must post by midnight ET (8 p.m. ET if due date = statement close).

Rewards & Value

Base Earn Rate
Unlimited 1% cash back on every purchase. Marketing: no limits or category restrictions; no minimums. Rewards will not expire for the life of the account.
Welcome Bonus
None. Live public offer as of September 3, 2026: no cash bonus, no spend threshold. Historical typical offer: also none.
Redemption
Cash at face value on statement credit or check (1¢ per 1% dollar). Official FAQ: redeem for any amount / no minimums. Gift-card rates may vary. Do not assume portal 5% unless the user actually books hotels/cars in Capital One Business Travel. Do not assume World Elite travel credits or transferable miles.

Bonus Categories & Promotions

  • Unlimited 5% cash back on hotels and rental cars booked through Capital One Business Travel. Hotel incidentals, upgrades, and bookings made outside the portal earn 1%. Flights, activities, and vacation rentals are not listed on the Classic product page — do not treat vacation-rental 5% as official unless the live page says so.

Transfer partners: None on this cash-back product. Official FAQ: cash rewards earned through spending on Spark Classic are not taxable (issuer still says consult a tax expert).

Credit, Limits & Spending

Credit limit: Fixed / assigned credit limit (revolving). Not NPSL. Issuer does not publish a min/max on the product page. Editorial sources commonly cite a $300 minimum starting limit (NerdWallet / WalletHub) — guidance, not an official floor. Confirm Purchasing Power may allow a one-time over-limit authorization on eligible accounts; Classic details not disclosed.

Personal guarantee: Not quoted on the Classic product page. Commonly reported as required; official Classic sentence missing. Secondary sources (NerdWallet, Ramp, WalletHub) treat Cap One small-business cards, including Classic, as PG required.

Credit check: Pre-approval advertised as no impact to personal score. Submitted application treated by reviewers as a hard pull on personal credit (commonly all three bureaus). Official: application may be declined if you have a freeze with credit bureaus.

Recommended credit: Issuer: Credit Level Fair; holders typically have a fair personal credit score, but there are multiple factors. NerdWallet editorial band often ~630–689. Bankrate recommended band 580–740. Approval is not score-only.

Employee cards: Free; add with name, DOB, phone; option to issue plastic or not; custom spend and cash limits, reset mid-cycle. Number allowed not disclosed. Primary account / guarantor remains responsible (Classic page does not spell joint and several).

Virtual cards: Available on Cap One business accounts: unique numbers, vendor assignment, lock/unlock/delete, remain active if plastic is locked. Not a separate credit line. Classic-specific eligibility not stated (benefits hub is family-wide with a not-all-cards-get-all-benefits caveat).

Product type: Revolving business credit card (balance may be carried; interest applies). Not a charge card. Contrast siblings: Spark Cash Plus and Venture X Business are pay-in-full / NPSL charge cards.

Network: Unclear on the product page. Mastercard is the working assumption (generic Mastercard Business GTB and a separate World Elite Mastercard for Business Spark GTB exist). World Elite status for Classic is not confirmed. Confirm on the issued card.

Benefits, Protections & Tools

Travel

  • No lounge access. No TSA PreCheck / Global Entry / NEXUS credit. No airline fee credits, hotel status, or companion certificates. Do not import Venture X lounge, $300 travel credit, or Global Entry.
  • Capital One Business Travel: complimentary access; 5% cash back on hotels and rental cars booked there
  • Roadside advertised (jump-start, tire change, towing). Mastercard Business GTB describes Master RoadAssist (pre-negotiated fees billed to the card). World Elite Spark GTB describes pay-per-use Roadside Dispatch at $70/call. Which schedule Classic uses is Unclear.
  • Trip delay / cancel / interrupt not listed on the Classic page. Do not assume World Elite Spark GTB lost-luggage / $250k travel accident applies until the card’s own guide is confirmed.
  • Auto rental CDW: if the card is standard Mastercard Business, MasterRental is in that GTB. If not, coverage is Not confirmed.

Purchase Protections

  • Extended warranty advertised on the Classic page. Use the product page for included; use GTB caps only after network confirmation.
  • $0 fraud liability for unauthorized charges on the primary and employee cards (advertised)
  • Purchase protection is in the generic Mastercard Business GTB (90 days; $10,000/claim; $50,000/account/12 months) but not named on the Classic product page
  • Return protection not disclosed. Cell-phone protection is in World Elite Spark GTB — not advertised on Classic; do not list as included
  • Card lock, security/fraud alerts, Eno, virtual numbers: advertised family tools

Business Tools

  • Expense notes/receipts, year-end summaries, recurring-transaction list, choose-your-due-date, AutoPay, account managers (can transact/pay/review; not the financial obligor)
  • Export to Quicken, QuickBooks, Excel
  • Accounts Payable / vendor payments exist on the business hub (card or ACH); Classic eligibility not individually confirmed
  • Not Ramp/Brex-grade native policy engine. Hub caveat: not every small-business card gets every tool.

Eligibility & Application

Who can apply: Authorized representative for your business. Collects legal business name, address, TIN/EIN (SSN for sole prop), annual revenue, monthly spend, names of other beneficial owners/controllers. Structure list (LLC, C-corp, nonprofit) not itemized; sole-prop path is explicit via SSN-as-TIN. ITIN / non-resident founder support not disclosed. SSN is listed on the Classic FAQ.

Business requirements: Time-in-business / revenue asked, not published as cutoffs. Prohibited industries not disclosed on the product page. Rent/mortgage asked; household-income cutoff not disclosed.

Issuer rules: No Chase 5/24. Fair-credit positioning is official. Cap One generally allows in-family upgrades via View Offers and Upgrades or phone; welcome bonuses usually not paid on a product change. Classic → Cash Select / Cash is the logical path once credit improves; Classic-specific upgrade menu is not published. Recon exists in community reports — commonly reported, not official.

Application impact: Soft/no-impact pre-approval advertised. Submitted app: reviewers report hard personal inquiry, often all three bureaus. Credit-bureau freeze can cause decline.

Best for: No annual fee Fair credit Flat-rate cash back No foreign transaction fee Free employee cards Credit builder

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • $0 annual fee with no year-2 surprise
  • Explicitly underwritten for fair personal credit — rare in the Spark/Ink/Amex Business set
  • Unlimited 1% + 5% Capital One Business Travel hotels/cars; rewards do not expire while the account is open
  • $0 foreign-transaction fee on a fair-credit product
  • Free employee cards with spend limits, virtual numbers, QBO/Excel export, year-end summaries, and $0 fraud-liability language covering employee cards

Cons

  • ✗ 28.99% variable purchase APR and no intro 0% — carrying a balance is expensive
  • ✗ No welcome bonus
  • ✗ 1% base lags Spark Cash Select (1.5%) and Spark Cash (2%)
  • ✗ Balance transfers not available
  • ✗ Likely reports full activity to personal credit — utilization risk
Overall Verdict

Consider (fair-credit builder only)

Spark Classic is a credit-access card, not a rewards engine and not a 0% working-capital tool. Do not confuse it with Spark Cash Select (1.5%, $750 bonus, 9-month 0%) or Spark Cash Plus (2% NPSL charge card). Do not copy Venture X or World Elite Spark insurance onto this SKU until Classic’s own Guide to Benefits is confirmed. If you can qualify for Select or Ink Unlimited, those are better earners. If you cannot, Classic is a reasonable builder — only if you pay in full.

7.2
Rating