Capital One Venture Business
Low-fee flat 2X transferable miles business card with small annual travel + ads/software credits; fixed limit; personal underwriting
Fintech Platform Charge Cards
No-PG expense/ops charge card; software is the product; rewards and float vary by platform
Costs & Pricing
| Metric | Capital One Venture Business | Fintech Platform Charge Cards |
|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | $95 (no first-year waiver on Venture Business). Legacy Spark Miles was $0 intro year 1, then $95 — do not use that waiver in a 2026 new-applicant calculator. | CATEGORY: Almost always $0 on public pages. EXAMPLE A Engine X: $0. EXAMPLE B Rho: $0. Adjacent Coast: platform fee $4 per active user / month (not a classic card AF). |
| Employee card fee | $0 | CATEGORY: Usually $0. EXAMPLE A: $0; unlimited physical + virtual (marketing). EXAMPLE B: $0; unlimited physical + virtual. |
| Purchase APR | 24.49% variable (marketing page shows a single rate, not a range). Review-captured terms: Prime + 17.74%; updates quarterly. Confirm whether 24.49% is universal or representative. | CATEGORY: Usually absent — charge products, no revolving purchase APR. Marketing “0%” is almost always charge-card float, not a 12–18 month 0% intro APR. EXAMPLE A: N/A / not published. EXAMPLE B: None (paid in full Daily or Monthly). |
| Intro APR (purchases) | Not offered | CATEGORY: Not offered as classic intro APR. EXAMPLE A: not offered. EXAMPLE B: Daily = next-day debit; Monthly ≈ 30-day float — not intro APR. |
| Foreign transaction fee | $0 | CATEGORY: Often missing from marketing; live in ToS / bank addendum. EXAMPLE A: silent on product page as of 3 Sep 2026 — dedicated Engine X bio extracts Program Terms FTF $0 (prefer Program Terms / dedicated bio). EXAMPLE B Rho: CONFLICT — help center says no FTF; ToS §2.4 may charge up to 1% on foreign transactions; network conversion may still apply. ToS wins. Adjacent Coast: 2.5% after USD conversion. |
| Late payment fee | Up to $39 (captured Capital One account-terms / review Schumer boxes) | CATEGORY: Often not on marketing page. EXAMPLE A: not boxed on product page; dedicated Engine X bio extracts $40 per late payment from Program Terms eff. 4/1/2026. EXAMPLE B Rho: 3% of delinquent balance per month, up to 6 months, unless prohibited by law (ToS §2.4) + forfeit cash back for that period. Adjacent Coast: greater of 2.5% of past due or $35; after 31 days greater of 5% or $35. |
Rewards & Value
| Metric | Capital One Venture Business | Fintech Platform Charge Cards |
|---|---|---|
| Base earn rate | Unlimited 2 miles per $1 on every purchase. No category tracking, no published annual cap. Same earn structure on legacy Spark Miles and live Venture Business. | CATEGORY: Varies widely; rarely as simple as Spark uncapped 2% cash. EXAMPLE A Engine X: 1.5% back in Engine points on everyday / off-Engine purchases. EXAMPLE B Rho Standard: 1.25% Daily Terms / 1.00% Monthly Terms. Adjacent Coast: fleet rebates + non-fuel ~1% (collect from Coast rewards page). |
| Welcome bonus | Live Venture Business (Sept. 3, 2026): 100,000 miles after $10,000 in first 3 months. Product-page footnote: may not be available for existing or previous Capital One Business card holders. Offer expiration date not dated on the live product page. | EXAMPLE A Engine X (live as of 3 Sep 2026): 20,000 Engine points after activate + spend $2,000 in the first 30 days. Conflict — Fit Small Business (14 Jul 2026) adds off-platform qualifier; open engine.com/x/spend-incentive-terms. No hard expire date on public hero. EXAMPLE B Rho: no live dollar welcome on official product page as of 3 Sep 2026; NerdWallet (26 Aug 2026) still shows $500 — secondary/possibly stale. |
| Redemption value | Issuer marketing treats miles as 1¢ each for Capital One Business Travel and cover-travel redemptions (request within 90 days). Cash/gift-card value is lower and varies / subject to change (business FAQ). Do not assume 1¢ for cash. Transfers not assumed unless the user picks a partner. | EXAMPLE A: points redeemable for flights, hotels, cars, statement credits via Engine; ¢/point Not disclosed; points have no cash value — do not assume 1¢. EXAMPLE B: statement credit at 1¢ per 1% after full on-time pay; must redeem within 12 months or forfeit (Rho will not notify); Daily Terms cash back typically posts around the 6th business day of the following month. |
| Transfer partners | Official partner article (Jan. 29, 2026) — 1:1 airlines: Aeromexico Rewards, Air Canada Aeroplan, Avianca LifeMiles, British Airways Club, Cathay Pacific Asia Miles, Etihad Guest, Finnair Plus, Flying Blue (Air France-KLM), Qantas Frequent Flyer, Qatar Privilege Club, Singapore KrisFlyer, TAP Miles&Go, Turkish Miles&Smiles, Virgin Red. 2:1.5: Emirates Skywards, EVA Air, Japan Airlines Mileage Bank. 5:3: JetBlue. Hotels: Choice Privileges 1:1, Wyndham Rewards 1:1, I Prefer 1:2, Accor Live Limitless 2:1. Miles do not expire while the account is open; may be lost if closed. Minimum transfer not disclosed on that article (third parties often cite 1,000-mile increments). | Generally not offered in the Chase/Amex bank-card sense. Engine redemption is platform catalog. Rho is cash back. |
Credit & Eligibility
| Metric | Capital One Venture Business | Fintech Platform Charge Cards |
|---|---|---|
| Personal guarantee | Required in ordinary Capital One small-business underwriting. Card-specific agreement sentence not disclosed in a public PDF located this run. Application collects SSNs of all business owners. | CATEGORY hallmark: typically No. EXAMPLE A: We also do not require personal guarantees (apply page). EXAMPLE B: No, Rho Cards do not require a personal guarantee / not currently required. Adjacent Coast: no PG. |
| Credit check | Hard pull on apply is the industry-standard Capital One path; pre-approval tool is marketed as no impact on personal score. Whose credit: owners whose SSNs are submitted. | EXAMPLE A: no hard pull; will not impact personal credit score; last-4 SSN for CIP/KYC. EXAMPLE B: no hard or soft check on your (personal) credit score when applying for credit with Rho (FAQ). Adjacent Coast: applying won’t affect personal credit score (marketing). |
| Employee cards | Free; individual limits; receipts/notes in Expense Management; same 2X earn per marketing. | CATEGORY hallmark: physical + virtual with pre-spend controls. EXAMPLE A: limits by employee, project, category, transaction; 1099/contractor cards marketed; company (accountholder) liable. EXAMPLE B: unlimited virtual/physical; vendor-locked and single-use; per-card limits, merchant restrictions, freeze; international toggle. Adjacent Coast: GPS/odometer/fuel controls. |
| Product type | Revolving business credit card with a fixed credit line (not NPSL; not a charge card). Capital One contrasts this with Venture X Business and Spark Cash Plus (pay-in-full / NPSL). | CATEGORY: Commercial charge cards bundled with expense or operations software. Pay-in-full; no revolving purchase APR. Not consumer revolvers. EXAMPLE A: Engine X travel-platform charge card (spend tiers, not separate card SKUs). EXAMPLE B: Rho Corporate Card with Daily Terms vs Monthly Terms repayment and Rho Platinum cash-back overlay. Adjacent: Coast fleet charge card. |
Pros & Cons
Capital One Venture Business
Pros
- Unlimited 2X miles with no category caps, plus 5X on Capital One Business Travel hotels/cars and 15+ transfer partners
- $0 FTF and free employee cards
- $50 travel + $50 ads/software credits can offset the $95 fee if used
- Global Entry/TSA PreCheck up to $120 every 4 years
- Live 100,000 / $10,000 / 3-month bonus is richer than the last Spark Miles 50k / $4,500 offer
Cons
- $95 fee with no year-1 waiver on the live SKU
- No 0% intro APR; BTs not available; purchase APR 24.49% variable
- No lounge access; 5X travel is portal hotels/cars only — not flights, not direct bookings
- Ads/software credit is MCC-fragile
- Spark Miles closed; existing holders must re-apply (no product change) to get new credits and may lose the bonus
Fintech Platform Charge Cards
Pros
- $0 annual fee and $0 extra-card fee on Engine X and Rho (official pages, 2026)
- No personal guarantee; Engine and Rho state no personal hard pull (apply/FAQ)
- Engine X 6–10% points on Engine hotels/cars is a real category rate if that booking path is used
- Rho publishes cash-back math, exclusions, $1M cap, and 12-month redeem-or-forfeit
- Both issue virtual + physical cards with pre-spend controls; Engine decision timing published (24 hours typical)
Cons
- Not sole-prop products (Engine official; Rho commonly reported)
- Pay-in-full; Rho late fee 3%/month up to 6 months + rewards forfeiture
- Engine point cash value unpublished; 10% is not 10% cash
- Rho up to 2% is conditional (Platinum + Daily + on-time + domestic eligible MCCs)
- Insurance / lounge / Schumer-box items largely missing from public card pages; Engine FTF and late fee not boxed on /x
Verdict
Capital One Venture Business
New applicants see Venture Business, not Spark Miles. Existing Spark Miles accounts stay on the old product ($0 year-1 then $95; GE/PreCheck only among this pair’s credits; no $50 travel or ads/software unless they separately apply). Do not mix with VentureOne (1.5X, $0) or Venture X Business ($395, NPSL, lounges). Skip it for 0% float, no-PG underwriting, or anyone who will revolve at 24.49%.
Fintech Platform Charge Cards
CATEGORY PATTERN — not one SKU. EXAMPLE A Engine X is also a dedicated bio in this set (prefer that page for Engine-only vs pages). EXAMPLE B Rho is the smaller banking-plus-card peer. Adjacent Coast is fleet-only. Measured against Ramp/Brex/Divvy, not a substitute for them. Anti-fit: sole props, 0% intro APR borrowers, and anyone treating up to 10% or up to 2% as unconditional cash. Re-verify welcome offers, FTF, and fee addenda before publish.