Capital One

Capital One Venture Business

Low-fee flat 2X transferable miles business card with small annual travel + ads/software credits; fixed limit; personal underwriting

Annual Fee
$95 (no first-year waiver on Venture Business...
Base Earn
Unlimited 2 miles per $1 on every purchase. N...
Intro APR
Not offered
Rating
8.5/10

Costs & Pricing

Annual fee (primary): $95 (no first-year waiver on Venture Business). Legacy Spark Miles was $0 intro year 1, then $95 — do not use that waiver in a 2026 new-applicant calculator.

Employee card fee: $0

Purchase APR: 24.49% variable (marketing page shows a single rate, not a range). Review-captured terms: Prime + 17.74%; updates quarterly. Confirm whether 24.49% is universal or representative.

Intro APR (purchases): Not offered

Intro APR (balance transfers): Not offered. Public language: Balance transfers are not available on Venture Business. Older blogs that said “no BT fee” are superseded.

Foreign transaction fee: $0

Cash advance APR: 30.49% variable; fee $5 or 5%, whichever is greater. Interest typically accrues immediately (standard Capital One cash-advance rule).

Late payment fee: Up to $39 (captured Capital One account-terms / review Schumer boxes)

Penalty APR: 32.9% variable commonly cited on review Schumer transcriptions; official live PDF not independently opened this run. Trigger and duration/exit not disclosed on the public product page.

Other fees: Overlimit fee not disclosed / generally not a Capital One line item. Rush, paper-statement, minimum-interest, inactivity, and FX-markup-beyond-FTF not disclosed. Captured terms: average daily balance including new transactions (loss of grace if any balance is carried). Minimum credit line $2,000 if approved. Full Schumer PDF not on the product page.

Rewards & Value

Base Earn Rate
Unlimited 2 miles per $1 on every purchase. No category tracking, no published annual cap. Same earn structure on legacy Spark Miles and live Venture Business.
Welcome Bonus
Live Venture Business (Sept. 3, 2026): 100,000 miles after $10,000 in first 3 months. Product-page footnote: may not be available for existing or previous Capital One Business card holders. Offer expiration date not dated on the live product page.
Redemption
Issuer marketing treats miles as 1¢ each for Capital One Business Travel and cover-travel redemptions (request within 90 days). Cash/gift-card value is lower and varies / subject to change (business FAQ). Do not assume 1¢ for cash. Transfers not assumed unless the user picks a partner.

Bonus Categories & Promotions

  • Unlimited 5X miles on hotels, vacation rentals, and rental cars booked through Capital One Business Travel. Direct airline.com / hotel.com bookings earn 2X, not 5X.
  • Flights booked in the portal are not listed at 5X on this card (elevated flight earn is a Venture X Business feature).

Partner Credits & Perks

  • $50 Capital One Business Travel credit — bookings through Capital One Business Travel only; applied at checkout; no miles on the credit portion; unused expires on next account-open anniversary. Venture Business only — not on legacy Spark Miles.
  • Up to $50 advertising or software statement credit — qualifying merchants; final eligibility by MCC; software from a general retailer may not qualify; unused expires on anniversary. Venture Business only.
  • Up to $120 Global Entry or TSA PreCheck every 4 years (pay the fee with the card; first eligible fee on the account; posts within 2 billing cycles). Spark Miles still listed as eligible. NEXUS not listed.
  • Hertz Five Star after enrollment via the in-account Hertz tile (not via Hertz.com).
  • Lifestyle Collection: $50 experience credit when booked through Capital One Business Travel. Premier Collection $100 copy on the same page — confirm which collection tier this mid-tier card actually unlocks before advertising $100.

Transfer partners: Official partner article (Jan. 29, 2026) — 1:1 airlines: Aeromexico Rewards, Air Canada Aeroplan, Avianca LifeMiles, British Airways Club, Cathay Pacific Asia Miles, Etihad Guest, Finnair Plus, Flying Blue (Air France-KLM), Qantas Frequent Flyer, Qatar Privilege Club, Singapore KrisFlyer, TAP Miles&Go, Turkish Miles&Smiles, Virgin Red. 2:1.5: Emirates Skywards, EVA Air, Japan Airlines Mileage Bank. 5:3: JetBlue. Hotels: Choice Privileges 1:1, Wyndham Rewards 1:1, I Prefer 1:2, Accor Live Limitless 2:1. Miles do not expire while the account is open; may be lost if closed. Minimum transfer not disclosed on that article (third parties often cite 1,000-mile increments).

Credit, Limits & Spending

Credit limit: Fixed line of credit (traditional fixed line of credit). Not NPSL. Captured terms: minimum line $2,000 if approved. Limit varies based on income, credit score, and other financial information. Increase process not detailed.

Personal guarantee: Required in ordinary Capital One small-business underwriting. Card-specific agreement sentence not disclosed in a public PDF located this run. Application collects SSNs of all business owners.

Credit check: Hard pull on apply is the industry-standard Capital One path; pre-approval tool is marketed as no impact on personal score. Whose credit: owners whose SSNs are submitted.

Recommended credit: Excellent (issuer). Third-party guidance often ~720+. Guidance only, not a cutoff.

Employee cards: Free; individual limits; receipts/notes in Expense Management; same 2X earn per marketing.

Virtual cards: Offered for safer online/vendor payments. Number, lock-to-merchant, and expiration fields not fully specified on the product page.

Product type: Revolving business credit card with a fixed credit line (not NPSL; not a charge card). Capital One contrasts this with Venture X Business and Spark Cash Plus (pay-in-full / NPSL).

Network: Not stated on the current product page. Secondary sources and historical Spark/Venture Business plastics are typically Mastercard. Confirm on the issued card. Do not treat consumer Venture / Venture X as this product.

Benefits, Protections & Tools

Travel

  • No lounge access (Venture X Business is the lounge card)
  • Up to $120 GE / TSA PreCheck every 4 years; NEXUS not listed
  • $50 Capital One Business Travel credit; Lifestyle Collection $50 experience credit when booked through the portal
  • Hertz Five Star after in-account enrollment
  • Trip delay / cancel / interrupt, baggage: not disclosed as included on the Venture Business product page. Older Spark Miles reviews often said these were absent. Unclear — confirm in the issued benefits guide.
  • Auto rental CDW: Unclear. Do not import Venture X primary CDW. Confirm Guide to Benefits / primary vs secondary.
  • Roadside dispatch not prominently listed on the current Venture Business page — Unclear.

Purchase Protections

  • Purchase protection / extended warranty / return protection / cell-phone protection: not listed on the Venture Business product page. May exist via network guide if the plastic is World Elite / Signature. Not disclosed in a public card-specific guide located this run. Do not copy Venture X cell-phone protection onto this card.

Business Tools

  • Expense Management (receipts/notes); virtual cards; lock/alerts in the Capital One app
  • Accounting export: Quicken, QuickBooks, Excel listed; learn-grow also names Sage Intacct, NetSuite, Xero. Native vs partner depth not fully specified.
  • Capital One Business Travel: 24/7 agents, policy controls (max prices, fare class), claimed ~15% average flight savings (issuer marketing)
  • Accounts Payable: send and track vendor payments from the Capital One account — AP tooling, not a 30-day charge-card float

Eligibility & Application

Who can apply: Authorized representative of a U.S. business with an address in the 50 states, D.C., or a U.S. military location. Sole props supported (TIN not required for sole props; EIN/TIN required for other structures). Multi-owner: SSNs of all owners. Nonprofit / holding-company eligibility not disclosed. Non-resident founder path not disclosed.

Business requirements: Revenue asked; no published floor. Prohibited industries not disclosed on the product page.

Issuer rules: No Chase 5/24 analog published. Existing/previous Capital One Business cardholders may be ineligible for the advertised bonus. No product-change Spark Miles → Venture Business; new application required; approval not guaranteed. Recon culture is anecdotal, not official.

Application impact: Pre-approval = no personal-score impact (issuer). Submitted application = personal credit used. Business credit use likely but not spelled out.

Best for: Transferable miles Flat-rate earn No foreign transaction fee Free employee cards Annual fee offset by credits

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Unlimited 2X miles with no category caps, plus 5X on Capital One Business Travel hotels/cars and 15+ transfer partners
  • $0 FTF and free employee cards
  • $50 travel + $50 ads/software credits can offset the $95 fee if used
  • Global Entry/TSA PreCheck up to $120 every 4 years
  • Live 100,000 / $10,000 / 3-month bonus is richer than the last Spark Miles 50k / $4,500 offer

Cons

  • ✗ $95 fee with no year-1 waiver on the live SKU
  • ✗ No 0% intro APR; BTs not available; purchase APR 24.49% variable
  • ✗ No lounge access; 5X travel is portal hotels/cars only — not flights, not direct bookings
  • ✗ Ads/software credit is MCC-fragile
  • ✗ Spark Miles closed; existing holders must re-apply (no product change) to get new credits and may lose the bonus
Overall Verdict

Buy (uncapped 2X miles)

New applicants see Venture Business, not Spark Miles. Existing Spark Miles accounts stay on the old product ($0 year-1 then $95; GE/PreCheck only among this pair’s credits; no $50 travel or ads/software unless they separately apply). Do not mix with VentureOne (1.5X, $0) or Venture X Business ($395, NPSL, lounges). Skip it for 0% float, no-PG underwriting, or anyone who will revolve at 24.49%.

8.5
Rating