Capital One

Capital One Venture X Business

Premium NPSL business charge card: unlimited 2X miles, portal 5X/10X, $300 travel credit + 10k anniversary miles, lounges, $395 fee

Annual Fee
$395 (ongoing; no first-year waiver published)
Base Earn
Unlimited 2 miles per $1 on net purchases (no...
Intro APR
Not offered
Rating
8.8/10

Costs & Pricing

Annual fee (primary): $395 (ongoing; no first-year waiver published)

Employee card fee: $0 for employee cards. Optional lounge access for additional cardholders is $125/year per person (up to 4). Cards without lounge access stay free.

Purchase APR: Marketing: 25.74% variable on the portion you elect to carry. Formal disclosure box does not print a purchase APR — it states the balance is due in full. No published Prime+ band.

Intro APR (purchases): Not offered

Intro APR (balance transfers): Not offered. Balance transfers and access checks are not allowed (disclosure 31812).

Foreign transaction fee: $0

Cash advance APR: Not disclosed in the public rates box (cash advances are available)

Late payment fee: 2.99% of the unpaid portion of the minimum payment. Because the minimum equals the New Balance, a missed due date is expensive.

Penalty APR: Not listed. Unclear whether a penalty APR can still be applied under the full cardmember agreement.

Other fees: Accounts Payable: 2.9% if you fund a vendor ACH/check with the card (ACH/check from bank account is $0; virtual-card delivery of a card payment is $0). No overlimit fee (NPSL). Rush/paper-statement/minimum-interest charges not disclosed. FX markup is not a separate FTF; network/issuer conversion still applies.

Rewards & Value

Base Earn Rate
Unlimited 2 miles per $1 on net purchases (no published category cap)
Welcome Bonus
Standard public offer (product page + disclosure 31812, 2026-09-03): 150,000 bonus miles after $30,000 spend within 3 months of rewards-membership enrollment. Posted within two billing cycles. Marketed as equal to $1,500 in travel at the 1¢ portal rate.
Redemption
1¢ per mile for portal travel and Cover Your Travel Purchases (miles needed = dollars × 100). Issuer markets 10,000 anniversary miles as $100 toward travel. Cash via check/account credit and gift cards at rates that vary and can change — not automatic.

Bonus Categories & Promotions

  • 10X hotels and rental cars booked through Capital One Business Travel
  • 5X flights and vacation rentals booked through Capital One Business Travel
  • Hotel incidentals, upgrades, and anything booked outside the portal earn 2X only
  • Capital One Entertainment: disclosure says 5X through 12/31/25 on tickets on the Entertainment ticketing platform (presales, Hall/Arena, and Dining excluded). Marketing still mentions 5X in 2026 — re-check whether the dated window was extended.

Partner Credits & Perks

  • $300 Capital One Business Travel credit — bookings through Capital One Business Travel only; applied at portal checkout; no miles on credited dollars; expires on next account-open anniversary
  • 10,000 anniversary miles automatic after each anniversary (starting first anniversary)
  • Up to $120 Global Entry or TSA PreCheck statement credit every 4 years (fee charged to Venture X Business or Venture Business; NEXUS not named)
  • Premier Collection up to $100 experience credit per qualifying hotel/vacation-rental stay via Capital One Business Travel; Lifestyle Collection up to $50. Premier hotels also breakfast-for-two, Wi-Fi, possible upgrade / early-late.
  • Employee lounge access is not a credit — optional $125/year per AU (up to 4)

Transfer partners: Capital One miles program (disclosure: may be eligible). Official 2026 list — 1:1 airlines: Aeromexico Rewards, Air Canada Aeroplan, Avianca LifeMiles, British Airways Club, Cathay Pacific Asia Miles, Etihad Guest, Finnair Plus, Flying Blue (Air France-KLM), Qantas, Qatar Privilege Club, Singapore KrisFlyer, TAP Miles&Go, Turkish Miles&Smiles, Virgin Red. 2:1.5: Emirates Skywards, EVA Air, Japan Airlines. 5:3: JetBlue TrueBlue. Hotels: Choice Privileges 1:1, Wyndham Rewards 1:1, I Prefer 1:2, Accor Live Limitless 2:1. Miles do not expire while the account is open; may be forfeited if closed.

Credit, Limits & Spending

Credit limit: No preset spending limit. Does not mean unlimited spending. Capacity adapts to spending behavior, payment history, credit profile, and other (including external) factors. Confirm Purchasing Power online or by phone before large charges.

Personal guarantee: Required in practice / exact clause not on the public product page. Capital One educational copy treats PGs as typical on business cards; secondary sources (Nav, Ramp) state Cap One business cards require a PG.

Credit check: Application collects SSN/ITIN, rent/mortgage, personal contact. Hard pull is the Cap One / industry norm; pre-approval tool is marketed as no-impact. Whose credit: authorizing signatory; beneficial owners/controllers also collected.

Recommended credit: Excellent (issuer). Third-party guidance commonly ~720+ / 740–850. Guidance only, not a cutoff.

Employee cards: Free; public copy does not numerically cap count. Roles: authorized user vs account manager (more admin rights). Custom spend limits, real-time posting, lock/unlock. Primary remains liable. No complimentary lounge access for additional cardholders unless $125/year add-on (up to 4).

Virtual cards: Offered for online spend; store-specific numbers available. Some customers ineligible or delayed ~30 days after opening (Cap One help). Not a Ramp-style unlimited vendor-locked control suite.

Product type: Hybrid business charge card with no preset spending limit (NPSL). Official terms: all charges due in full; minimum payment equals New Balance. Marketing allows carrying a portion at 25.74% variable APR (Pay Over Time). Not a traditional revolving line.

Network: Visa or Mastercard depending on account (official benefits copy refers to both; do not assume one network until the plastic arrives)

Benefits, Protections & Tools

Travel

  • Capital One Lounges and Landings for the primary (physical card or in-app digital pass; access not guaranteed, space-limited)
  • Priority Pass participating lounges (~1,300+); enrollment required in app after activation. Venture X Business: up to 2 complimentary PP guests per visit; extra guests $35. (Personal Venture X lost free PP guests; business kept them.)
  • Cap One Lounge/Landing guests (policy as of Feb 1, 2026+): $45 adult / $25 ages 2–17 / under 2 free. Two free Lounge guests and one free Landing guest if the account spends ≥ $75,000 in a calendar year.
  • Additional cardholders: no complimentary lounge access. Optional $125/year per person, up to four, covers Cap One Lounges, Landings, and PP.
  • Up to $120 GE / TSA PreCheck every 4 years; NEXUS not named
  • Premier Collection / Lifestyle Collection perks when booked via the portal ($100 / $50 experience credit)
  • Hertz President’s Circle: marketed on third-party summaries and some Cap One tiles after enrollment — confirm on the live benefits tab; do not import the consumer-only enrollment page
  • Trip delay/cancel/interrupt, baggage, travel accident: network benefits not fully posted as a public PDF Guide to Benefits for this SKU. Secondary tables have described trip cancel/interrupt (~$2,000/traveler) and related coverage — caps and Visa vs Mastercard differences are Unclear. Do not copy consumer Venture X Infinite figures.
  • Auto rental CDW: widely described as primary when the vehicle is rented primarily for business, full rental paid with the card, agency CDW declined. Geography lives in the Guide. Cap One’s generic help lists primary CDW for consumer Venture X, not this SKU by name.
  • Roadside dispatch listed on the generic Capital One business-card benefits page
  • No airline incidental credit or companion certificate (the $300 is portal travel, not an airline fee credit)

Purchase Protections

  • Purchase protection / extended warranty / return protection / cell-phone protection: included on premium Cap One cards but network-dependent. Official caps are not in a public issuer benefits PDF for this SKU.
  • Secondary after a reported Mastercard→Visa shift on some VX Business accounts: cell-phone coverage falling from $800 to $600 per claim, $50 deductible, 2 claims per 12 months, monthly wireless bill paid with the card. Verify Guide to Benefits on the issued network.
  • Entertainment 5X is a rewards rate, not ticket insurance

Business Tools

  • Receipts and notes in account; year-end summary if open, good standing, and ≥1 transaction in the calendar year
  • QuickBooks Online called out for Accounts Payable sync; CSV / Quicken / Excel export. Native NetSuite/Sage/Expensify not advertised as first-party.
  • Capital One Business Travel (policies, admins, 24/7 support, corporate hotel rates marketed)
  • Accounts Payable included, no platform fee; 2.9% when card-funding vendor ACH/check. Marketing video mentions deferring payments up to 45 days when paying by card — confirm in-product.
  • Virtual cards, lock, alerts, lounge pass, Confirm Purchasing Power in Capital One Mobile

Eligibility & Application

Who can apply: Authorized representative of a U.S. business. Address in 50 states, D.C., or a U.S. military location; valid SSN or ITIN; age 18+. Not available if address is a correctional institution. EIN or SSN for sole proprietorships. Beneficial owners/controllers collected. Nonprofit/holding company not specifically listed.

Business requirements: No published time-in-business or revenue floors. Application asks annual revenue and monthly business spend.

Issuer rules: No Chase 5/24. Official Cap One screens in disclosure 31812: 2+ Cap One card apps in 30 days; 5+ open Cap One credit card accounts; past-due Cap One card; over-limit on a Cap One card; charge-off in the past year; non-discharged bankruptcy; credit freeze/lock. Prior Capital One business accounts can block the welcome bonus. Product-change path from Venture Business / Spark not disclosed.

Application impact: Personal credit accessed. Freeze = decline. Pre-approval marketed as no impact; full app is treated as a hard pull in secondary sources.

Best for: Premium travel Transferable miles No preset spending limit Lounge access No foreign transaction fee Pay in full

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Unlimited 2X miles with no category tracking, plus 5X/10X in Capital One Business Travel and 15+ transfer partners
  • $300 portal credit + 10,000 anniversary miles offset most of the $395 fee if the credit is used (fee nets about −$5 at 1¢/mile before lounge value)
  • NPSL purchasing power with Confirm Purchasing Power; $0 FTF
  • Free employee and virtual cards; Accounts Payable included (no platform fee)
  • Primary lounge stack (Cap One + Priority Pass) with two free PP guests — better PP guest policy than personal Venture X after Feb 2026

Cons

  • ✗ $395 fee and a $300 credit that only works inside Capital One Business Travel
  • ✗ Welcome spend hurdle is $30,000 in 3 months; prior Capital One Business customers may get $0 bonus
  • ✗ Pay-in-full design; late fee is 2.99% of the unpaid New Balance
  • ✗ Carry APR 25.74% if you use the residual-balance option — poor working-capital tool
  • ✗ Portal-only hotel/air bonuses; insurance/cell-phone/rental-CDW details are network-dependent and not in a public benefits PDF
Overall Verdict

Strong Buy (premium travel NPSL)

Venture X Business is the miles/lounge sibling of Spark Cash Plus — same NPSL charge-card chassis, not consumer Venture X and not Venture Business. Fee math works if the $300 portal credit is used; skip it if you will not book in Capital One Business Travel, cannot hit $30k/3 months, need 0% float, or want no-PG underwriting. Confirm the live welcome tile (150k standard vs 400k targeted) and the issued Visa vs Mastercard benefits guide.

8.8
Rating