Head-to-Head

Engine X

No-annual-fee travel charge card: 6–10% Engine points on Engine hotel/car bookings, 1.5% on other spend; no personal guarantee

VS

Fintech Platform Charge Cards

No-PG expense/ops charge card; software is the product; rewards and float vary by platform

Annual Fee
$0
CATEGORY: Almost always $0 on public ...
Base Earn
1.5% back in Engine points on Qualify...
CATEGORY: Varies widely; rarely as si...
Intro APR
Not offered (not a revolving product)
CATEGORY: Not offered as classic intr...
Rating
8.2/10
8.0/10

Costs & Pricing

MetricEngine XFintech Platform Charge Cards
Annual fee$0CATEGORY: Almost always $0 on public pages. EXAMPLE A Engine X: $0. EXAMPLE B Rho: $0. Adjacent Coast: platform fee $4 per active user / month (not a classic card AF).
Employee card fee$0; unlimited physical and virtual cardsCATEGORY: Usually $0. EXAMPLE A: $0; unlimited physical + virtual (marketing). EXAMPLE B: $0; unlimited physical + virtual.
Purchase APRN/A — charge card. No purchase interest if paid by due date. No published purchase APR range. Marketing “0%” means no annual fee plus charge-card float until the due date, not an intro APR.CATEGORY: Usually absent — charge products, no revolving purchase APR. Marketing “0%” is almost always charge-card float, not a 12–18 month 0% intro APR. EXAMPLE A: N/A / not published. EXAMPLE B: None (paid in full Daily or Monthly).
Intro APR (purchases)Not offered (not a revolving product)CATEGORY: Not offered as classic intro APR. EXAMPLE A: not offered. EXAMPLE B: Daily = next-day debit; Monthly ≈ 30-day float — not intro APR.
Foreign transaction fee$0 (International Transaction Fee: $0 / None). Ordinary Visa FX conversion still applies (rate not separately itemized).CATEGORY: Often missing from marketing; live in ToS / bank addendum. EXAMPLE A: silent on product page as of 3 Sep 2026 — dedicated Engine X bio extracts Program Terms FTF $0 (prefer Program Terms / dedicated bio). EXAMPLE B Rho: CONFLICT — help center says no FTF; ToS §2.4 may charge up to 1% on foreign transactions; network conversion may still apply. ToS wins. Adjacent Coast: 2.5% after USD conversion.
Late payment fee$40 per late paymentCATEGORY: Often not on marketing page. EXAMPLE A: not boxed on product page; dedicated Engine X bio extracts $40 per late payment from Program Terms eff. 4/1/2026. EXAMPLE B Rho: 3% of delinquent balance per month, up to 6 months, unless prohibited by law (ToS §2.4) + forfeit cash back for that period. Adjacent Coast: greater of 2.5% of past due or $35; after 31 days greater of 5% or $35.

Rewards & Value

MetricEngine XFintech Platform Charge Cards
Base earn rate1.5% back in Engine points on Qualifying Card Purchases (everyday / off-Engine spend, including flights even if booked on Engine)CATEGORY: Varies widely; rarely as simple as Spark uncapped 2% cash. EXAMPLE A Engine X: 1.5% back in Engine points on everyday / off-Engine purchases. EXAMPLE B Rho Standard: 1.25% Daily Terms / 1.00% Monthly Terms. Adjacent Coast: fleet rebates + non-fuel ~1% (collect from Coast rewards page).
Welcome bonus20,000 Engine points after the company activates an Engine X card and completes $2,000 in Qualifying Off-Platform Purchases within 30 days of first Card activation. Off-platform = card spend not booked through Engine.com. Engine travel bookings do not count. Employee/additional-card off-platform spend does count (company-level). First-time Engine X customer; one bonus per company. Offer ends 11:59 p.m. ET, 31 December 2026 (incentive terms updated 1 Jun 2026).EXAMPLE A Engine X (live as of 3 Sep 2026): 20,000 Engine points after activate + spend $2,000 in the first 30 days. Conflict — Fit Small Business (14 Jul 2026) adds off-platform qualifier; open engine.com/x/spend-incentive-terms. No hard expire date on public hero. EXAMPLE B Rho: no live dollar welcome on official product page as of 3 Sep 2026; NerdWallet (26 Aug 2026) still shows $500 — secondary/possibly stale.
Redemption valueOfficial cents-per-point not disclosed. Points have no cash value and are redeemable only through the program. Checkout shows a point-to-dollar value before confirm. Secondary (TPG, 20 Aug 2026): statement credit described at ~50% of booking value — unofficial; do not hard-code 1¢ or 0.5¢ as issuer fact. Disclose user-selectable factor: 1.0× if redeemed for Engine bookings; 0.5× if using TPG’s statement-credit haircut.EXAMPLE A: points redeemable for flights, hotels, cars, statement credits via Engine; ¢/point Not disclosed; points have no cash value — do not assume 1¢. EXAMPLE B: statement credit at 1¢ per 1% after full on-time pay; must redeem within 12 months or forfeit (Rho will not notify); Daily Terms cash back typically posts around the 6th business day of the following month.
Transfer partnersNot offered (no Chase/Amex/airline transfers)Generally not offered in the Chase/Amex bank-card sense. Engine redemption is platform catalog. Rho is cash back.

Credit & Eligibility

MetricEngine XFintech Platform Charge Cards
Personal guaranteeOfficial apply page: “We also do not require personal guarantees.” Program terms: company is the liable party. Owner KYC still collected. Confirm no hidden guaranty in the Issuing Bank Terms accepted at offer.CATEGORY hallmark: typically No. EXAMPLE A: We also do not require personal guarantees (apply page). EXAMPLE B: No, Rho Cards do not require a personal guarantee / not currently required. Adjacent Coast: no PG.
Credit checkOfficial: no hard pull, will not impact personal credit score. Soft-pull vs none-at-all on a bureau file is not separately named. Last-4 SSN is for identity verification (CIP), not described as a full credit pull.EXAMPLE A: no hard pull; will not impact personal credit score; last-4 SSN for CIP/KYC. EXAMPLE B: no hard or soft check on your (personal) credit score when applying for credit with Rho (FAQ). Adjacent Coast: applying won’t affect personal credit score (marketing).
Employee cardsUnlimited physical + instant virtual, including 1099 / temporary workers. Spend controls by employee, project, expense type, category, merchant, transaction. Physical cards ~8 business days. Company remains liable.CATEGORY hallmark: physical + virtual with pre-spend controls. EXAMPLE A: limits by employee, project, category, transaction; 1099/contractor cards marketed; company (accountholder) liable. EXAMPLE B: unlimited virtual/physical; vendor-locked and single-use; per-card limits, merchant restrictions, freeze; international toggle. Adjacent Coast: GPS/odometer/fuel controls.
Product typeBusiness charge card + spend-management card (pay-in-full each cycle; assigned line of credit; no revolving APR). Not a consumer credit card. Sibling: Direct Bill (credit line limited to Engine hotel/flight/car bookings — not this card).CATEGORY: Commercial charge cards bundled with expense or operations software. Pay-in-full; no revolving purchase APR. Not consumer revolvers. EXAMPLE A: Engine X travel-platform charge card (spend tiers, not separate card SKUs). EXAMPLE B: Rho Corporate Card with Daily Terms vs Monthly Terms repayment and Rho Platinum cash-back overlay. Adjacent: Coast fleet charge card.

Pros & Cons

Engine X

Pros

  • $0 annual fee and $0 employee/virtual-card fees
  • 6% (scaling to 10%) Engine points on Engine hotel and rental-car bookings — unusual on-platform travel earn at $0 fee
  • No personal guarantee and no hard personal credit pull (official apply language)
  • Charge card + Autopay + spend controls + unlimited cards for employees and 1099s; travel booking, policy, and folios in one dashboard
  • $0 foreign-transaction fee in the fee table

Cons

  • Elevated earn does not apply to flights or off-Engine hotels; marketing “up to 10% on travel” is broader than the legal category
  • Pay-in-full charge card; $40 late / $40 returned-payment fees; no revolver
  • Points have no cash value; official ¢/point not published; statement-credit value may haircut vs booking (secondary)
  • Sole proprietors ineligible; U.S. entity + EIN required
  • No published lounge, TSA/Global Entry, or card-insurance benefits guide; product is new (Mar 2026) so limit ranges and servicing quality are thinly documented

Fintech Platform Charge Cards

Pros

  • $0 annual fee and $0 extra-card fee on Engine X and Rho (official pages, 2026)
  • No personal guarantee; Engine and Rho state no personal hard pull (apply/FAQ)
  • Engine X 6–10% points on Engine hotels/cars is a real category rate if that booking path is used
  • Rho publishes cash-back math, exclusions, $1M cap, and 12-month redeem-or-forfeit
  • Both issue virtual + physical cards with pre-spend controls; Engine decision timing published (24 hours typical)

Cons

  • Not sole-prop products (Engine official; Rho commonly reported)
  • Pay-in-full; Rho late fee 3%/month up to 6 months + rewards forfeiture
  • Engine point cash value unpublished; 10% is not 10% cash
  • Rho up to 2% is conditional (Platinum + Daily + on-time + domestic eligible MCCs)
  • Insurance / lounge / Schumer-box items largely missing from public card pages; Engine FTF and late fee not boxed on /x

Verdict

Engine X

Engine X is a TMC + charge card, not Direct Bill and not Ramp/Brex. Most SMBs stay Silver (6% / 1.5%). Skip it if travel will not move onto Engine, if you need revolving credit or transferable miles, or if you are a sole prop. Confirm the live 20,000-point offer (through 31 Dec 2026) requires $2,000 off-Engine spend within 30 days of first card activation.

Fintech Platform Charge Cards

CATEGORY PATTERN — not one SKU. EXAMPLE A Engine X is also a dedicated bio in this set (prefer that page for Engine-only vs pages). EXAMPLE B Rho is the smaller banking-plus-card peer. Adjacent Coast is fleet-only. Measured against Ramp/Brex/Divvy, not a substitute for them. Anti-fit: sole props, 0% intro APR borrowers, and anyone treating up to 10% or up to 2% as unconditional cash. Re-verify welcome offers, FTF, and fee addenda before publish.