Fintech Platform Charge Cards
No-PG expense/ops charge card; software is the product; rewards and float vary by platform
Costs & Pricing
Annual fee (primary): CATEGORY: Almost always $0 on public pages. EXAMPLE A Engine X: $0. EXAMPLE B Rho: $0. Adjacent Coast: platform fee $4 per active user / month (not a classic card AF).
Employee card fee: CATEGORY: Usually $0. EXAMPLE A: $0; unlimited physical + virtual (marketing). EXAMPLE B: $0; unlimited physical + virtual.
Purchase APR: CATEGORY: Usually absent — charge products, no revolving purchase APR. Marketing “0%” is almost always charge-card float, not a 12–18 month 0% intro APR. EXAMPLE A: N/A / not published. EXAMPLE B: None (paid in full Daily or Monthly).
Intro APR (purchases): CATEGORY: Not offered as classic intro APR. EXAMPLE A: not offered. EXAMPLE B: Daily = next-day debit; Monthly ≈ 30-day float — not intro APR.
Intro APR (balance transfers): Not offered (typical)
Foreign transaction fee: CATEGORY: Often missing from marketing; live in ToS / bank addendum. EXAMPLE A: silent on product page as of 3 Sep 2026 — dedicated Engine X bio extracts Program Terms FTF $0 (prefer Program Terms / dedicated bio). EXAMPLE B Rho: CONFLICT — help center says no FTF; ToS §2.4 may charge up to 1% on foreign transactions; network conversion may still apply. ToS wins. Adjacent Coast: 2.5% after USD conversion.
Cash advance APR: CATEGORY: Often unsupported. EXAMPLE A: not disclosed on marketing page; dedicated Engine X bio in this set treats ATM/CA as not available. EXAMPLE B Rho: cash advances not supported; ATM withdrawals not supported.
Late payment fee: CATEGORY: Often not on marketing page. EXAMPLE A: not boxed on product page; dedicated Engine X bio extracts $40 per late payment from Program Terms eff. 4/1/2026. EXAMPLE B Rho: 3% of delinquent balance per month, up to 6 months, unless prohibited by law (ToS §2.4) + forfeit cash back for that period. Adjacent Coast: greater of 2.5% of past due or $35; after 31 days greater of 5% or $35.
Penalty APR: CATEGORY: Not a revolving APR product — late fee / freeze instead of penalty APR. EXAMPLE A: N/A. EXAMPLE B: N/A (late fee instead).
Other fees: CATEGORY: Overlimit usually control-block not a classic fee; rush/paper/inactivity often undisclosed. EXAMPLE A: application $0; physical cards within 8 business days; rush fee not on marketing (dedicated bio: expedited shipping $30). EXAMPLE B: Daily Terms ~1-day grace; Monthly Terms ~30-day billing + 1-day repayment and $25,000 minimum cash balance; wire recall $30 / SWIFT $15 are banking fees. Adjacent Coast: due in full; cannot carry a balance.
Rewards & Value
Bonus Categories & Promotions
- ★ EXAMPLE A Engine X hotels & rental cars booked on Engine by annual-spend tier: $0–$250k = 6%; $250k = 7%; $2.5M = 8%; ≥$5M = 10%. Flights and off-platform hotels are not in the bonus column (1.5% points). Footnote: actual rates vary by category and may change.
- ★ EXAMPLE B Rho Platinum: 2.00% Daily / 1.75% Monthly if payroll from Rho + revenue deposited via Rho Checking + ≥50% of company assets at Rho + open Rho Corporate Card. Cap $1,000,000 eligible spend per calendar year.
Transfer partners: Generally not offered in the Chase/Amex bank-card sense. Engine redemption is platform catalog. Rho is cash back.
Credit, Limits & Spending
Credit limit: CATEGORY: Dynamic spend capacity, not a classic consumer credit line on a Schumer box. Increases follow deposits, revenue, payment history. EXAMPLE A: flexible LOC assigned at approval; optional financials for higher lines. EXAMPLE B: underwritten on business financials; Monthly Terms limit personalized; Daily Terms no published min cash; Monthly Terms $25,000 minimum cash.
Personal guarantee: CATEGORY hallmark: typically No. EXAMPLE A: We also do not require personal guarantees (apply page). EXAMPLE B: No, Rho Cards do not require a personal guarantee / not currently required. Adjacent Coast: no PG.
Credit check: EXAMPLE A: no hard pull; will not impact personal credit score; last-4 SSN for CIP/KYC. EXAMPLE B: no hard or soft check on your (personal) credit score when applying for credit with Rho (FAQ). Adjacent Coast: applying won’t affect personal credit score (marketing).
Recommended credit: Not published as FICO guidance. Entity + KYC + restricted MCCs still apply.
Employee cards: CATEGORY hallmark: physical + virtual with pre-spend controls. EXAMPLE A: limits by employee, project, category, transaction; 1099/contractor cards marketed; company (accountholder) liable. EXAMPLE B: unlimited virtual/physical; vendor-locked and single-use; per-card limits, merchant restrictions, freeze; international toggle. Adjacent Coast: GPS/odometer/fuel controls.
Virtual cards: Yes on Engine and Rho (unlimited / as needed in marketing).
Product type: CATEGORY: Commercial charge cards bundled with expense or operations software. Pay-in-full; no revolving purchase APR. Not consumer revolvers. EXAMPLE A: Engine X travel-platform charge card (spend tiers, not separate card SKUs). EXAMPLE B: Rho Corporate Card with Daily Terms vs Monthly Terms repayment and Rho Platinum cash-back overlay. Adjacent: Coast fleet charge card.
Network: EXAMPLE A: Visa Commercial. EXAMPLE B: Mastercard World Elite Business. Adjacent Coast: Visa.
Benefits, Protections & Tools
Travel
- ✓ Do not import consumer Visa Infinite / Amex Platinum lounge lists. Insurance/lounge items largely Not disclosed in public benefits guides for Engine and Rho.
- ✓ EXAMPLE A: native Engine hotels/cars/flights/groups; FlexPro cancel on Engine side; card CDW / trip insurance certificates Not disclosed on card page
- ✓ EXAMPLE B: Mastercard World Elite Business may include network benefits — no WE benefits PDF linked on the card page reviewed; TSA/GE / trip insurance Not disclosed as Rho credits
- ✓ Adjacent Coast: fleet-focused, not a travel-insurance SKU
Purchase Protections
- ✓ EXAMPLE A: purchase protection / extended warranty / cell-phone Not disclosed in public benefits guide
- ✓ EXAMPLE B: same — Not disclosed on card FAQ
- ✓ Adjacent Coast: Fuel Fraud Guarantee up to $25k/year if protections enabled (marketing)
Business Tools
- ✓ CATEGORY hallmark: software is the product — virtual cards, employee limits, dashboards
- ✓ EXAMPLE A: travel policy integration; category/merchant limits; real-time dashboard with Engine bookings; QBO cited; AP not the core product (Direct Bill is a sibling)
- ✓ EXAMPLE B: receipt capture, approvals, policy; QBO, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics 365; bill pay + banking on same platform; Mastercard Easy Savings is extra merchant cash back, not the core rate
- ✓ Adjacent Coast: fleet receipts + telematics; Bill Pay $99/mo + per-item overage
Eligibility & Application
Who can apply: EXAMPLE A Engine X: U.S.-incorporated LLC, corporation, LLP with U.S. operations and U.S. physical address (no P.O. box). Sole props / unincorporated not eligible. EIN required; controlling officer + 25%+ owners KYC (DOB, address matching ID, last 4 SSN). EXAMPLE B Rho: U.S. businesses; EIN, formation docs, government ID per owner, beneficial owners. Sole props commonly reported ineligible. Adjacent Coast: corp/LLC/partnership; sole props typically out.
Business requirements: EXAMPLE A: time-in-business / revenue minimums not published; optional financials for larger lines; prohibited industries not on apply page (Stripe/Fifth Third restricted list likely). EXAMPLE B: Monthly Terms extra $25k cash + possible read-only bank access.
Issuer rules: No Chase 5/24 / Amex card-count rules. Existing Engine travel relationship: apply inside Engine; points transfer seamlessly per FAQ. Product-change welcome on upgrade N/A for first Engine card.
Application impact: EXAMPLE A: no hard personal pull; no PG. EXAMPLE B: no personal hard/soft credit check (FAQ); no PG.
Best for: No annual fee No personal guarantee Charge card Employee spend controls Accounting / expense software Best as second card
Pros & Cons
Pros
- ✓ $0 annual fee and $0 extra-card fee on Engine X and Rho (official pages, 2026)
- ✓ No personal guarantee; Engine and Rho state no personal hard pull (apply/FAQ)
- ✓ Engine X 6–10% points on Engine hotels/cars is a real category rate if that booking path is used
- ✓ Rho publishes cash-back math, exclusions, $1M cap, and 12-month redeem-or-forfeit
- ✓ Both issue virtual + physical cards with pre-spend controls; Engine decision timing published (24 hours typical)
Cons
- ✗ Not sole-prop products (Engine official; Rho commonly reported)
- ✗ Pay-in-full; Rho late fee 3%/month up to 6 months + rewards forfeiture
- ✗ Engine point cash value unpublished; 10% is not 10% cash
- ✗ Rho up to 2% is conditional (Platinum + Daily + on-time + domestic eligible MCCs)
- ✗ Insurance / lounge / Schumer-box items largely missing from public card pages; Engine FTF and late fee not boxed on /x
Buy (no-PG expense/ops charge cards)
CATEGORY PATTERN — not one SKU. EXAMPLE A Engine X is also a dedicated bio in this set (prefer that page for Engine-only vs pages). EXAMPLE B Rho is the smaller banking-plus-card peer. Adjacent Coast is fleet-only. Measured against Ramp/Brex/Divvy, not a substitute for them. Anti-fit: sole props, 0% intro APR borrowers, and anyone treating up to 10% or up to 2% as unconditional cash. Re-verify welcome offers, FTF, and fee addenda before publish.