Marriott Bonvoy Business® American Express® Card
Mid-fee Marriott hotel business card: 6X at Bonvoy hotels, 4X on restaurants / U.S. gas / U.S. wireless / U.S. shipping, annual 35k-cap Free Night, complimentary Gold Elite, 15 elite night credits, $0 employee cards
Capital One Venture Business
Low-fee flat 2X transferable miles business card with small annual travel + ads/software credits; fixed limit; personal underwriting
Costs & Pricing
| Metric | Marriott Bonvoy Business® American Express® Card | Capital One Venture Business |
|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | $125 (no first-year waiver published) | $95 (no first-year waiver on Venture Business). Legacy Spark Miles was $0 intro year 1, then $95 — do not use that waiver in a 2026 new-applicant calculator. |
| Employee card fee | $0; up to 99 Employee Cards | $0 |
| Purchase APR | Prime + 12.74% to Prime + 21.74% (marketing 19.49%–28.49% variable at Prime 6.75% as of 1–2 Sep 2026). Placement by creditworthiness at opening. No intro APR. | 24.49% variable (marketing page shows a single rate, not a range). Review-captured terms: Prime + 17.74%; updates quarterly. Confirm whether 24.49% is universal or representative. |
| Intro APR (purchases) | Not offered | Not offered |
| Foreign transaction fee | $0 | $0 |
| Late payment fee | Up to $39; will not exceed Minimum Payment Due | Up to $39 (captured Capital One account-terms / review Schumer boxes) |
Rewards & Value
| Metric | Marriott Bonvoy Business® American Express® Card | Capital One Venture Business |
|---|---|---|
| Base earn rate | 2 Marriott Bonvoy points per $1 on other eligible purchases (no published cap). Card-side points only — Marriott member-stay points are a program overlay, not a card rate. | Unlimited 2 miles per $1 on every purchase. No category tracking, no published annual cap. Same earn structure on legacy Spark Miles and live Venture Business. |
| Welcome bonus | Up to 125,000 Bonvoy bonus points: 75,000 after $6,000 eligible purchases + 50,000 after an additional $3,000 ($9,000 total) within the first 6 months of Card Membership (live public offer, 3 Sep 2026). Rotates — 3+2 Free Night Awards have appeared in other cycles. Offer end date not printed on the Business page. | Live Venture Business (Sept. 3, 2026): 100,000 miles after $10,000 in first 3 months. Product-page footnote: may not be available for existing or previous Capital One Business card holders. Offer expiration date not dated on the live product page. |
| Redemption value | Issuer does not publish a cent value. Do not invent one. Industry write-ups often use ~0.6–0.9¢ on paid-night replacement; airline transfers often lower. Do not assume 1¢. | Issuer marketing treats miles as 1¢ each for Capital One Business Travel and cover-travel redemptions (request within 90 days). Cash/gift-card value is lower and varies / subject to change (business FAQ). Do not assume 1¢ for cash. Transfers not assumed unless the user picks a partner. |
| Transfer partners | Marriott Bonvoy airline partners at ~3:1 (not Membership Rewards). Not transferable to Amex MR. | Official partner article (Jan. 29, 2026) — 1:1 airlines: Aeromexico Rewards, Air Canada Aeroplan, Avianca LifeMiles, British Airways Club, Cathay Pacific Asia Miles, Etihad Guest, Finnair Plus, Flying Blue (Air France-KLM), Qantas Frequent Flyer, Qatar Privilege Club, Singapore KrisFlyer, TAP Miles&Go, Turkish Miles&Smiles, Virgin Red. 2:1.5: Emirates Skywards, EVA Air, Japan Airlines Mileage Bank. 5:3: JetBlue. Hotels: Choice Privileges 1:1, Wyndham Rewards 1:1, I Prefer 1:2, Accor Live Limitless 2:1. Miles do not expire while the account is open; may be lost if closed. Minimum transfer not disclosed on that article (third parties often cite 1,000-mile increments). |
Credit & Eligibility
| Metric | Marriott Bonvoy Business® American Express® Card | Capital One Venture Business |
|---|---|---|
| Personal guarantee | Required in substance. CMA: Basic Cardmember and Company jointly and severally liable for all charges, including Employee Card use. | Required in ordinary Capital One small-business underwriting. Card-specific agreement sentence not disclosed in a public PDF located this run. Application collects SSNs of all business owners. |
| Credit check | No personal-score impact to learn if approved. Personal score may be impacted if approved and the Card is accepted. Business credit may be impacted on submit. | Hard pull on apply is the industry-standard Capital One path; pre-approval tool is marketed as no impact on personal score. Whose credit: owners whose SSNs are submitted. |
| Employee cards | Up to 99 at $0 AF. Spend limits, merchant-type limits, real-time alerts, freeze/unfreeze, account graphs. Liability remains on Basic Cardmember + Company. | Free; individual limits; receipts/notes in Expense Management; same 2X earn per marketing. |
| Product type | Revolving business credit card (not a charge card; not a spend-management / net-terms product) | Revolving business credit card with a fixed credit line (not NPSL; not a charge card). Capital One contrasts this with Venture X Business and Spark Cash Plus (pay-in-full / NPSL). |
Pros & Cons
Marriott Bonvoy Business® American Express® Card
Pros
- $125 fee with an automatic annual Free Night (≤35,000 points) that can exceed the fee if redeemed against a high cash rate
- Complimentary Gold Elite + 15 ENCs without 25 paid nights
- 4X on four real small-business categories (worldwide restaurants, U.S. gas, U.S. wireless, U.S. shipping) with no published cap
- Up to 99 employee cards at $0 with limits and alerts; $0 FTF
- Apply-to-decision path that does not hit personal credit unless the Card is accepted
Cons
- $125 fee with no statement-credit offset; 35k Free Night cap plus dynamic pricing and resort fees
- Points are Marriott-locked; airline transfers are 3:1
- Purchase APR 19.49%–28.49% variable and no 0% intro — a poor revolver
- Personal / joint-and-several liability
- No lounge access, no Global Entry/TSA credit, thin trip-insurance stack vs premium Amex business cards
Capital One Venture Business
Pros
- Unlimited 2X miles with no category caps, plus 5X on Capital One Business Travel hotels/cars and 15+ transfer partners
- $0 FTF and free employee cards
- $50 travel + $50 ads/software credits can offset the $95 fee if used
- Global Entry/TSA PreCheck up to $120 every 4 years
- Live 100,000 / $10,000 / 3-month bonus is richer than the last Spark Miles 50k / $4,500 offer
Cons
- $95 fee with no year-1 waiver on the live SKU
- No 0% intro APR; BTs not available; purchase APR 24.49% variable
- No lounge access; 5X travel is portal hotels/cars only — not flights, not direct bookings
- Ads/software credit is MCC-fragile
- Spark Miles closed; existing holders must re-apply (no product change) to get new credits and may lose the bonus
Verdict
Marriott Bonvoy Business® American Express® Card
This is the live U.S. Marriott business cobrand — not Bevy/Brilliant, not Chase Marriott Business (closed to new applicants), and not the Canadian $150 / 5X/3X/2X card. It pays when the firm actually sleeps Marriott and uses the Free Night. A hotel-agnostic shopper should use Ink Preferred, Business Gold, or a $0 2% cash card instead. Do not put Bonvoy member-stay points in the card earn column.
Capital One Venture Business
New applicants see Venture Business, not Spark Miles. Existing Spark Miles accounts stay on the old product ($0 year-1 then $95; GE/PreCheck only among this pair’s credits; no $50 travel or ads/software unless they separately apply). Do not mix with VentureOne (1.5X, $0) or Venture X Business ($395, NPSL, lounges). Skip it for 0% float, no-PG underwriting, or anyone who will revolve at 24.49%.