Head-to-Head

Ramp Corporate Card

No-annual-fee corporate charge card with no personal guarantee, 30-day pay-in-full, variable 0–1.5% cashback set by Ramp, unlimited employee/virtual cards, and expense software bundled

VS

Fintech Platform Charge Cards

No-PG expense/ops charge card; software is the product; rewards and float vary by platform

Annual Fee
$0 on the card. Platform software is ...
CATEGORY: Almost always $0 on public ...
Base Earn
Rate determined by Ramp on Qualified ...
CATEGORY: Varies widely; rarely as si...
Intro APR
Not offered (no APR product)
CATEGORY: Not offered as classic intr...
Rating
8.5/10
8.0/10

Costs & Pricing

MetricRamp Corporate CardFintech Platform Charge Cards
Annual fee$0 on the card. Platform software is separate: Free $0/user/mo; Plus $15/user/mo + unpublished platform fee by team size (20% off annual); Enterprise custom.CATEGORY: Almost always $0 on public pages. EXAMPLE A Engine X: $0. EXAMPLE B Rho: $0. Adjacent Coast: platform fee $4 per active user / month (not a classic card AF).
Employee card fee$0; unlimited physical and virtual cardsCATEGORY: Usually $0. EXAMPLE A: $0; unlimited physical + virtual (marketing). EXAMPLE B: $0; unlimited physical + virtual.
Purchase APRN/A — charge card; no revolving APR published. Marketing “0%” is 30-day statement float, not an intro APR.CATEGORY: Usually absent — charge products, no revolving purchase APR. Marketing “0%” is almost always charge-card float, not a 12–18 month 0% intro APR. EXAMPLE A: N/A / not published. EXAMPLE B: None (paid in full Daily or Monthly).
Intro APR (purchases)Not offered (no APR product)CATEGORY: Not offered as classic intro APR. EXAMPLE A: not offered. EXAMPLE B: Daily = next-day debit; Monthly ≈ 30-day float — not intro APR.
Foreign transaction feeNo separate FTF line. International charges that clear in a non-settlement currency: Visa conversion + markup not exceeding 3%. Local-currency cards on Enterprise / Canada can avoid conversion if spend matches card currency.CATEGORY: Often missing from marketing; live in ToS / bank addendum. EXAMPLE A: silent on product page as of 3 Sep 2026 — dedicated Engine X bio extracts Program Terms FTF $0 (prefer Program Terms / dedicated bio). EXAMPLE B Rho: CONFLICT — help center says no FTF; ToS §2.4 may charge up to 1% on foreign transactions; network conversion may still apply. ToS wins. Adjacent Coast: 2.5% after USD conversion.
Late payment feeOfficial: none on the card product. Auto-pay of the full statement is required; failed debit is the operational penalty (possible lock, limit cut, account action).CATEGORY: Often not on marketing page. EXAMPLE A: not boxed on product page; dedicated Engine X bio extracts $40 per late payment from Program Terms eff. 4/1/2026. EXAMPLE B Rho: 3% of delinquent balance per month, up to 6 months, unless prohibited by law (ToS §2.4) + forfeit cash back for that period. Adjacent Coast: greater of 2.5% of past due or $35; after 31 days greater of 5% or $35.

Rewards & Value

MetricRamp Corporate CardFintech Platform Charge Cards
Base earn rateRate determined by Ramp on Qualified Purchases (Rewards Terms, 15 Jul 2026). Public/spokesperson range 0%–1.5% assigned per customer. Do not treat 1.5% as guaranteed. Canada cards are a separate fixed 1% (out of scope).CATEGORY: Varies widely; rarely as simple as Spark uncapped 2% cash. EXAMPLE A Engine X: 1.5% back in Engine points on everyday / off-Engine purchases. EXAMPLE B Rho Standard: 1.25% Daily Terms / 1.00% Monthly Terms. Adjacent Coast: fleet rebates + non-fuel ~1% (collect from Coast rewards page).
Welcome bonusNot disclosed on official corporate-card or pricing pages (3 Sep 2026). Third-party listings conflict: NerdWallet 15 Jun 2026 — $1,000 Ramp card on approval, no min spend, one per new customer; older reviews $500. Treat live offer as Unclear — confirm on application.EXAMPLE A Engine X (live as of 3 Sep 2026): 20,000 Engine points after activate + spend $2,000 in the first 30 days. Conflict — Fit Small Business (14 Jul 2026) adds off-platform qualifier; open engine.com/x/spend-incentive-terms. No hard expire date on public hero. EXAMPLE B Rho: no live dollar welcome on official product page as of 3 Sep 2026; NerdWallet (26 Aug 2026) still shows $500 — secondary/possibly stale.
Redemption valueCash/statement path is 1¢ per 1% only to the extent Ramp assigned that earn rate. Transfers are not 1:1. Cashback is not automatic unless auto-applied to Plus/Bill Pay fees.EXAMPLE A: points redeemable for flights, hotels, cars, statement credits via Engine; ¢/point Not disclosed; points have no cash value — do not assume 1¢. EXAMPLE B: statement credit at 1¢ per 1% after full on-time pay; must redeem within 12 months or forfeit (Rho will not notify); Daily Terms cash back typically posts around the 6th business day of the following month.
Transfer partnersNot listed in current Rewards Terms. Historical 2024 in-product list (verify in-dashboard): Aeromexico, Flying Blue, Avianca LifeMiles, British Airways, Etihad Guest, Marriott Bonvoy, Qantas, Qatar Privilege Club, TAP Miles&Go, Wyndham — commonly 1.5 Ramp points : 1 partner unit. Min historically 100 partner points (150 Ramp). Irreversible; name must match an authorized admin.Generally not offered in the Chase/Amex bank-card sense. Engine redemption is platform catalog. Rho is cash back.

Credit & Eligibility

MetricRamp Corporate CardFintech Platform Charge Cards
Personal guaranteeNot required. Official: “Ramp does not require founders to personally guarantee your expenses.” Corporate liability.CATEGORY hallmark: typically No. EXAMPLE A: We also do not require personal guarantees (apply page). EXAMPLE B: No, Rho Cards do not require a personal guarantee / not currently required. Adjacent Coast: no PG.
Credit checkOfficial: no personal credit check; no impact to personal credit score. Last 4 of SSN (or foreign passport) of one officer is KYC, plus selfie/ID if stepped up — not a published hard pull.EXAMPLE A: no hard pull; will not impact personal credit score; last-4 SSN for CIP/KYC. EXAMPLE B: no hard or soft check on your (personal) credit score when applying for credit with Rho (FAQ). Adjacent Coast: applying won’t affect personal credit score (marketing).
Employee cardsUnlimited physical and virtual; company liable. Spend controls: amount, frequency, category block/allow, merchant lock. Apple Pay / Google Pay; 3DS. USD physical cards: no PIN.CATEGORY hallmark: physical + virtual with pre-spend controls. EXAMPLE A: limits by employee, project, category, transaction; 1099/contractor cards marketed; company (accountholder) liable. EXAMPLE B: unlimited virtual/physical; vendor-locked and single-use; per-card limits, merchant restrictions, freeze; international toggle. Adjacent Coast: GPS/odometer/fuel controls.
Product typeCorporate / commercial charge card plus spend-management platform (pay-in-full; not revolving; no published APR)CATEGORY: Commercial charge cards bundled with expense or operations software. Pay-in-full; no revolving purchase APR. Not consumer revolvers. EXAMPLE A: Engine X travel-platform charge card (spend tiers, not separate card SKUs). EXAMPLE B: Rho Corporate Card with Daily Terms vs Monthly Terms repayment and Rho Platinum cash-back overlay. Adjacent: Coast fleet charge card.

Pros & Cons

Ramp Corporate Card

Pros

  • $0 card AF and $0 extra-card fees with unlimited virtual/physical cards
  • No personal guarantee and no personal credit check (official); corporate liability
  • Native controls, receipt capture, and accounting sync — the software is the product
  • 30-day interest-free float if auto-pay succeeds
  • Visa Signature purchase security, extended warranty, and rental CDW on USD cards

Cons

  • Cashback rate is not a published guarantee (0–1.5%, Ramp-determined); foreign/non-USD spend excluded from Qualified Purchases
  • Must pay in full; cannot revolve or balance-transfer
  • Sole props ineligible; $25k cash + real U.S. address bar
  • FX markup up to 3% despite “no FTF” marketing; Plus platform fee and 2026 Bill Pay per-item fees can erase “free”
  • Limit can move with linked cash; missed debit is operationally harsh

Fintech Platform Charge Cards

Pros

  • $0 annual fee and $0 extra-card fee on Engine X and Rho (official pages, 2026)
  • No personal guarantee; Engine and Rho state no personal hard pull (apply/FAQ)
  • Engine X 6–10% points on Engine hotels/cars is a real category rate if that booking path is used
  • Rho publishes cash-back math, exclusions, $1M cap, and 12-month redeem-or-forfeit
  • Both issue virtual + physical cards with pre-spend controls; Engine decision timing published (24 hours typical)

Cons

  • Not sole-prop products (Engine official; Rho commonly reported)
  • Pay-in-full; Rho late fee 3%/month up to 6 months + rewards forfeiture
  • Engine point cash value unpublished; 10% is not 10% cash
  • Rho up to 2% is conditional (Platinum + Daily + on-time + domestic eligible MCCs)
  • Insurance / lounge / Schumer-box items largely missing from public card pages; Engine FTF and late fee not boxed on /x

Verdict

Ramp Corporate Card

Ramp is a charge-card ops platform, not a 1.5% bank card and not Brex’s sibling SKU. Official no-PG / no personal pull plus unlimited virtual cards is the reason to pick it. Do not assume 1.5% cashback, a public welcome bonus, or true $0 FX. Sole props, revolvers, and rate-guarantee shoppers should use a traditional PG cash card instead. Plus seats and Bill Pay rails are software costs, not a card annual fee.

Fintech Platform Charge Cards

CATEGORY PATTERN — not one SKU. EXAMPLE A Engine X is also a dedicated bio in this set (prefer that page for Engine-only vs pages). EXAMPLE B Rho is the smaller banking-plus-card peer. Adjacent Coast is fleet-only. Measured against Ramp/Brex/Divvy, not a substitute for them. Anti-fit: sole props, 0% intro APR borrowers, and anyone treating up to 10% or up to 2% as unconditional cash. Re-verify welcome offers, FTF, and fee addenda before publish.